poetry that leaves you gasping for air

By; sofia garcia

In poetry, there are rules. Some poets follow the rules of rhyme and meter while there are others that could care less about those rules. Those rule breakers created something called free verse. They try to fool their readers by claiming they are writing “free verse”, and that of course is matter of opinion. Free verse just means the poet made up their own rules to write their poem.

Whitman in his poem, “I Sing the Body Electric” he uses free verse. He writes in run-on sentences which contain very little punctuation, and literally leaves the reader breathless. There is no name for that, but it inspired poet Luis Alberto Ambroggio to write “We Are All Whitman: #2: Song of/ to/ My/ Your/ Self” and “Song of Myself:  Walt Whitman in Other Words” which are just as breathless as Whitman’s “I Sing the Body Electric”.

Surprisingly enough, Ambroggio actually writes in “We Are All Whitman: #2: Song of/ to/ My/ Your/ Self”, “In everyone’s Self,/the poem’s universal soul,/in each innumerable Walt Whitman,/cosmos without rubrics,/”, in which he references Whitman which led me to assume that he was Ambroggio’s inspiration to write theses poems as long as the tittles themselves.

When Professor Humberto Garcia, read “I Sing the Body Electric” to the class, he was out of breath by the time he was finished reading it. In contrast, when Luis Alberto Ambroggio, Christopher Merril, and Sholeh Wolpe read “Song of Myself:  Walt Whitman in Other Words” they sound like they are reading a book to the audience. The three narrators have their breathing composed.

In “I Sing the Body Electric” Whitman talks about how his poetry affects the body and proceeds to break it into parts in his poem. He goes on about this without stopping. He even says it in his poem, “I believe the likes of you shall stand or fall with/my poems and that they are my poems” (Whitman lines7-8). This poet believes that poetry should reach every country so he goes on to list every country. It leads Ambroggio to have the same rhythmic enumeration. On the subject, translator and poet Sholeh Wolpe says that when you translate poetryyou get “into the bone of poetry.”

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dannyamaro
    Sep 18, 2019 @ 23:38:56

    I really love this post! You made yer point clear and your post enjoyable to read!

    Like

    Reply

  2. swallaceboyd3
    Sep 20, 2019 @ 06:37:39

    I really like this post. I think that you thoughtfully explained what free verse poetry is and how it is portrayed. I thought that your comparison of the different readings was I nice inclusion of the post. I think it emphasizes the freeness that is allowed by free verse. One thing that I would have liked to see was an explanation for how the readings of “Song to Myself” sound like a book being narrated. I think it would have added another dimension to the insight you made. Overall, I really enjoyed your blog post.

    Like

    Reply

  3. putridpenner
    Sep 20, 2019 @ 18:58:56

    Your analysis of the similarities and differences of the poem was superb! I love the way that you broke down the content of Ambroggio’s poem, noting the common language between them in order to justify it as a reference. Also, you were incredibly clear while comparing the meter and overall effects of the poem. One thing that I think could add to your analysis is going into what effects on the poem (whether it is meaning or simply experience) do these differences have on their overall message, and why was it done.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment