Emotional Intoxication

After an initial read, it’s obvious that Hafiz uses an interesting series of imagery and metaphors to craft his poem, “Ode 44”. Upon further examination, we see that he toys heavily with themes of love and sex, explaining them artistically through a medium of a very original, and well developed metaphor. In his poem “Ode 44”, Hafiz aims to illustrate that love- as well as words spoken with true love- is a wine, and the intimacy of sex which follows is the drunkneness achieved as a result of “drinking” just a little bit too much.  

Hafiz builds his narrative slowly, giving you the important bits of his metaphor little by little, as he describes the beauty he finds in his presences. Starting off, he gives his the initial building blocks of his artistic interpretation in line 3, “With tilted glass, and verses on her lips” and line 5, “Filled full of frolic to her wine red lips”. “Tilted glass” obviously referencing a wine glass, but also “verses on her lips” pointing to words, or phrases. Not only mere phrases, mind you, but verses. Excerpts of poetry or music. There is beauty in this choice of vocabulary, intending that the content of her words sends music through his mind and his heart. “Wine-red lips” then ties the two together, establishing the connection with wine and words, that being them both bestowed upon the lips. The first half of the metaphor is then finalized on line 12, where Hafiz explains he “drank whatever wine she poured for me”, after his lover calls for his attention in the middle of the night. She confides in him with whatever is burdening her, whether that be anger, fear, stress, or simply her overwhelming love for him, and he listens to her and accepts everything she is saying to him as if it were a fine wine. After engaging in excessive consumption of the wine that is the love shared between these two people, the narrator describes a sort of inebriation achieved as a result. On line 19, Hafiz explains his narrator and their partner as, “Drunkards we are by a divine decree”. Based on the seductive tone of the poem and connection to sexual behavior involved with nudity, it’s easy to assume that overconsumption of this wine has resulted in the intoxication of sexual desire. However this is no ordinary drunkenness, oh no. They’re not getting drunk off cheap liquor and 91% rubbing alcohol, they’re drinking fine wine. This is drunkenness to a divine decree. He’s pointing towards the kind of inebriation conjured not only by the simple the act of sex, but by something more meaningful, more spiritual, something more divine. An emotional intoxication only achievable through the consumption of the verses of love. 

One might say that this would be an anti religious way of viewing love and sex; through the medium of inebriation and substance abuse. And upon first glance I interpreted it this way as well, however I recognized some important things as I persisted dissecting the idea. As stated previously, the imagery of alcohol here takes the shape of fine wine, not hard spirits or foaming beers. Most religious texts which hold faith in Christ (referred to as Īsā in the Islamic faith) believe that regulated consumption of fine red wine is righteous and holy, and brings one closer to the spirit through the consumption of his holy blood, symbolized by such wine. Similarly, the depictions of sex here do not include adulatory or similar unholy sexual acts, and are instead meaningful and intimate, reflecting the love shared between two people. Any fair creator would smile upon this act of passion. 

That is, given I’m correct! The final stanza kind of threw me. Let me know if there’s anything I missed or might need further elaboration on.  I also think the rhyme scheme between “divine” and (fine)”wine” are cute, but they aren’t canon unless these phrases also rhyme in Farsi. It was worth mentioning in my opinion, but since this poem wasn’t translated by Hafiz himself in no way has right to act as evidence in my argument.

Hayden Namgostar

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. atlasthechaos
    Sep 23, 2021 @ 20:37:59

    This was by far my favorite post that I read on this topic. I low-key, ‘borrowed’ some of your ideas and used them to help my thesis and I felt like this really helped me review the way the whole process went in a better light.
    My favorite part about all of this was the use of language. You really showcased your own voice in this essay, especially through your analyzation and how you interpreted the piece. The sentences “Similarly, the depictions of sex here do not include adulatory or similar unholy sexual acts, and are instead meaningful and intimate, reflecting the love shared between two people. Any fair creator would smile upon this act of passion.” Wow! Chefs kiss!
    The only thing I need to improve or clarify is the last stanza. I wish you would have added on to it. What would you have liked them to further establish? Do you think the issue of translation was a huge contributor? What do you think could be lost? Other thank that this was wonderful to read!

    Like

    Reply

  2. pbee2
    Sep 23, 2021 @ 21:16:05

    I really love the in-depth analysis included in this post. I think that it is really great and original that you were able to look past the surface level of the mentions of wine and sex to see it’s deeper meaning in relation to religion. I believe it is also interesting to note that you saw that it was not just any alcohol mentioned in the piece but in fact, wine, which ties to it’s religious meaning. Great post, loved it. I don’t think I would change anything or that there’s anything I need clarification on. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and insight.

    Like

    Reply

  3. katherinederas10
    Sep 23, 2021 @ 21:19:39

    This was my favorite post because it provided a great analysis and did not leave me confused. I understood exactly what you were trying to say. I don’t think there is anything I would change about the post. All I have to say is keep up the great work!

    Like

    Reply

  4. smille42
    Sep 23, 2021 @ 21:23:21

    I really like the arguments made in this post and thought they were the most thought-provoking and went in-depth with the images and metaphors of the text. I thought your argument about the ideas of drunkenness and alcohol being used emotionally were extremely convincing and thorough in exploring the meaning behind those metaphors. I especially thought the final argument about the connection to religious faith was the most convincing part of the entire post; it was very impressive. I feel there could have been a further look at the connections to the Islamic faith pertaining to the metaphors and maybe a further explanation about the possibility of what’s lost in translation that you hinted about at the end of your post, but overall I thought this was extremely impressive!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment