Love, Lust

Ode 47 by poet Hafez, tells the story of a drunk trying to win over a beautiful lady. This lady is amused that the drunken man has a crush on her. We can see this in line 15, where he say’s, “…And mocked my foolish hopes of winning her.” She continues on and uses a simile to compare him to her girdle. We can see this simile in line 19, “Thou shall not clasp me so, Like my good girdle – not for all thy songs!” With this simile she tells us she does not want his arms around her body.

I would say these poems go against Islamic spirituality. These poems go against Islamic spirituality because Islamic people are not allowed to consume alcohol. Since these poems talk a lot about drinking, and being drunk I feel that Islamic people would find this shameful.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pbee2
    Sep 23, 2021 @ 21:27:00

    I believe it is very interesting to note that you feel as though the lady was not into the man the same, I definitely did not see that my first time reading the poem. He was pursuing her in a way she didn’t like him by not wanting his arms around her. So I feel as though it could go both ways with her in a way toying with him or playing coy. What I personally would improve upon within this post is that I wish it was a bit longer but honestly that’s okay. I feel as though the point still gets across within the post.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. smille42
    Sep 24, 2021 @ 21:12:06

    I think this is an interesting interpretation of the poem, taking a more literal approach and thinking of it as a man pursuing a woman in a drunken stupor. However, I think there is more to this poem than just that. Even if you go with that interpretation, I feel like you could have gone deeper on the imaging associated with being drunk that are shown in the poem, but what you have here is definitely a good start with interesting ideas!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Roma Ventura
    Sep 25, 2021 @ 02:35:03

    I like how you use the exact line of the evidence given in the poem. Interesting concept of the poem, however, you gave good supporting evidence such as, “…And mocked my foolish hopes of winning her.” This helps support your claim. Good job!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment