Sweet, Sweet Chipotle

Shall I compare thee to a hot bowl of Chipotle?

Your insides– beans, rice, and chicken– in happy matrimony

Or how about the way you taste on a hot summers day

Your extra toppings keep me no longer lonely

Sometimes you are hard to handle like the spicy cheese

However your beauty keeps me up at night

Let me just hang with you please

I just want to share a burrito in the light.

Your skin smells like the sweet cola

Nothing can change you resemble a soft taco

Hanging out with you makes me want to say hola

Going on a trip with you would be fun, how about Morocco?

But what about the beauty of a hot Panera panini?

You certainly remind me of a Napa Almond Sandwich which is not so teenie.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alexnash2014
    Oct 30, 2014 @ 04:51:38

    I’m actually a passionate Chipotle enthusiast as well. Loved the transition from the bowl to the burrito.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Alyssa J
    Oct 30, 2014 @ 05:36:48

    this is ingenious

    Like

    Reply

  3. dannyon13
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 15:01:18

    First of all, I really love Chipotle! I like the parallel of this poem to Shakespeare’s “Shall I Compare Thee to a Summer’s Day” and thought it was funny that this is comparing someone to a burrito instead. Your poem fits the abab cdcd efef rhyme scheme, characteristic of an English sonnet, but the lines are not in iambic pentameter. I can’t really find a clear reason as to why you would do that, so perhaps by focusing on the meter more carefully, this post could be improved.

    Like

    Reply

  4. marklipnickey
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 18:22:20

    I love your throwback to good old Bill Shakes. That puts your piece on an immediate road to success. I like that you adhere to the traditional rhyming scheme, I think that benefits your piece. I think my favorite part, after your opening, might be your volta. You are able to question your love of the burrito. That said, I think you might be better served by clarify your conclusion. Right now it reads that you would give up chipotle, is that true, or do the other food options not compare? I think that could be something to include in your third quatrain.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment