What Rhymes with Sonnet?

Can I attempt to write a sonnet?

Poetry has never been my strength.

The only word that rhymes is bonnet,

And I’m just a quarter through the length.

Oh, why can’t poetry be easy?

Analyzing it rattles my brain.

Long poems make me wheezy,

And short poems are rather mundane.

They say you can truly learn a lot,

By writing a poem of your own,

If there’s one thing that this has taught,

Is that I should stick to reading alone.

I’m so glad that is over and done,

Don’t tell, but poetry is actually kind of fun.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kittsham
    Oct 30, 2014 @ 16:35:34

    I like that you adapted the traditional sonnet by using humor, but still kept within some traditional confines. The tone shifts at each quatrain and you come to a quirky conclusion at the end that answers your opening question. The rhyme scheme stays consistent and I think this adds to the poem’s whit. Though you strayed from the “patriarchal lady” subject, the rules you did adhere to enhance the poem’s aesthetic value.

    Like

    Reply

  2. alexnash2014
    Oct 30, 2014 @ 16:41:29

    The use of english sonnet is successfully executed in your work through the use of formal rhyming scheme, division into four quatrains, and topped off with the couplet in your last two lines. Irony is clearly evident in this sonnet and you executed it very effectively throughout your piece. Complaining about the difficulty of writing a sonnet and actually writing it at the same time is a very creative approach to this assignment. After the turn, your change in tone was smoothly executed and made for a fluid transition from complaining about sonnet writing to secretly appreciating it.

    Like

    Reply

  3. dannyon13
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 06:22:55

    You have successfully utilized the English sonnet form in your writing. I really liked the fact that the sonnet was about you writing a sonnet. The mood of the poem is fun and light, and the volta at the end hints that you do in fact enjoy writing poetry. I can’t really find much else to critique on this one.. Well done.

    Like

    Reply

  4. marklipnickey
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 18:26:36

    You do a really effective job of using the Shakespearean sonnet to create a very effective introspective piece. In other words, your sonnet does a good job of talking about itself. I think your volta leads us to an excellent, logical, conclusion. I’m really struggling to find improvements to offer. It is fun, moving, and most importantly really creative. Good stuff.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment